top of page
  • Haley Haskin

Gerstle's


The other night I drank a mule with you

In the warm glow of a lonely wooden bar

On a funny triangular corner

Down my street,

Strung with Christmas lights

That stay there year-round.

I don’t watch Hallmark movies.

But I think it looked like one.

Mischievous night aglow,

With solitary streetlights

Dangling from wires,

Perched on their posts,

Like still beacons

In the cigarette smoke.

Few cars passed

On that plain Thursday night,

Quiet as mid-night snow.

The November air was cold

Sitting under the outdoor shelter,

Heat lamps ablaze,

Working against the chill.

But I put my knees in my sweatshirt,

Tasted fiery spirits,

And the contentment of cozy adventure,

And simple exploring,

And sitting by you,

Made me feel warm

As we sipped and smiled.

And life felt possible.

Recent Posts

bottom of page