top of page
  • Haley Haskin

October Nights

Updated: Apr 30, 2023


My little car winds along an open road that cuts through a mountain range with the curvy playfulness of a river. Cotton candy skies have dimmed to a cloudless, star-speckled, blackness. Folk rock gravels and moans from the speakers at my feet. My form sits small inside the large hoodie I keep in my backseat. And my sweat-shirted palms grip the bottom of the steering wheel. Only my nose, cheekbones, and the exposed tips of my fingers can feel the nippy night air rushing in from the moonroof. The heat pouring from my floor-boards swirls with the music and the cold outside, creating a glorious sensation of the best parts of autumn. Hints of marshmallow and smoke ride on the air that fills my nostrils with each long, fresh pull. Think of full moons and hot cider and crooked trees and lively breeze. Think of open windows and heavy blankets, and chilly mornings and mugs of hot drinks. Think of flickering flames and trick-or-treat. A harvest of colors falling into cool streams. Autumn is here with its cozy allures and invigorating chill, and the balance of it all makes me feel so deeply aware of life’s simple pleasures.

Recent Posts

bottom of page