top of page
  • Haley Haskin

Finding Legitimacy in Patience


I want to make a little devotional post, discussing something that has been on my heart, and that I’ve been struggling with the last couple of months. I think this is something our fast-paced and instantaneous culture deals with on a daily basis without even realizing its toxicity. I hope something in this speaks to you the way it does to me.

 

I am an extremely task oriented person. I like to work efficiently, and get as much done as quickly as I possibly can. A fast pace motivates me, and when that pace is slowed down by an outside force, I get very frustrated. My obsession with perfect time management, my extreme impatience when that time is used the wrong way is my Achilles heel. And it is only worsened in a culture that encourages, and even thrives on instant gratification and speed.

Things like waiting in line, waiting on people, or sitting in traffic with drivers who are clueless, totally get under my skin. These things don’t just annoy me. They actually make me angry. Because what right do these people have to waste my time? Why must my schedule suffer for their incompetence and slow minds? Those are the thoughts that go through my head! And I know they are terrible and ungracious. But it has always been so incredibly difficult for me to justify patience in situations like these where the solution to the slowdown seems so simple in my mind.

That is until a few weeks ago when God told to stop and realize that it is not my time that I am dealing with. It is His time. How could I be so selfish with something that is not even mine?

Having the type-A personality that I do, this realization that I am dealing with God’s time made it much easier for me to justify situations where my tight schedule hits a roadblock. It helps me to realize that whatever slowdown I am dealing with must be a part of God’s plan.

You see, God uses everything. And he uses that time when I am sitting in traffic or waiting in line, to teach me about his patience and sovereignty. Maybe he wants me to sit there in traffic a little longer so I don’t get in a horrible accident somewhere along the way. Maybe he wants me to stand in line a little longer so I can strike up a conversation with the person behind me that might brighten their day. Maybe he wants me to stay waiting so I have the chance to cool down my hot anger, and by his power, put on an attitude of graciousness and gentleness. God is the one who makes our paths straight when our emotions obscure our logic. The Bible says: “Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.” (Proverbs 19:21); “In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps.” (Proverbs 16:9). God’s way is always the way.

God orchestrates my time in the way that He wants it to be used. He is in control of how quickly I get places in life. Not me. So why bother with such urgency if He sees the big picture, and it is what He wants for us? Patience is an exercise of faith, accepting that we have small perspectives, and knowing that our omniscient and mighty God will deliver in his own perfect timing. Whether that delivery be from trying to get somewhere behind a crowd of slow walkers, or waiting on a job offer. God tells us this:

“’For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’” -Jeremiah 29:11

“In him we are also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will.” -Ephesians 1:11

So what right would I have to snap at the people that make me lose my patience? What right have I to yell in my car at the traffic ahead? What right have I to shove through the people walking slowly in front of me? What right do I have to let my rage get the better of me, and cause me to act in a way that would hurt another one of God’s children?

“A hot tempered person stirs up conflict, but the one who is patient calms a quarrel.” –Proverbs 15:18

Maybe those people aren’t stupid. Maybe they are just having a bad day. Maybe they are trying to be extra safe because someone close to them just died in a car accident. Maybe they are taking longer in line because they are buying lunch for their friend also. And Maybe they are walking slowly because they have a disability I don’t know about. Things that are much more important than my saved time.

There is always more than what meets the eye. And even when there isn’t, we are still called to put others before us. “So the last will be first, and the first will be last.” (Matthew 20:16). We are to act justly in God’s eyes, even though that spiritually just act will not line up with the worldly, all-about-me justification system.

“Through patience a ruler can be persuaded, and a gentle tongue can break a bone.” –Proverbs 25:15

God calls us to live a life of gentleness, faithfulness, patience, and self-control. This means giving every situation to him, and through confession and prayer, finding the power of the holy spirit to hold our tongues, soften our hearts, and always have an attitude of graciousness and patience. This will bring us ultimate peace.

“But the fruit of the spirit is love, joy, peace, forebearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law … Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.” –Galatians 5:22, 23, 25

I now challenge you to go through your whole day with an attitude of extreme patience. Any time you start to feel urgency, stop, pray, and relinquish your frustrations to Him. He understands your frustrations, He delights in your desire to set them aside and be like Him, and He will empower you to make those patient, faith choices even when you don't want to. Be still and know that He is God, and you will find peace among the chaos.

Recent Posts

bottom of page