top of page
  • Haley Haskin

Yellow Light


My boots clunk down a long empty city street –

Asphalt discolored and weathered with age.

My clothes rustle softly against each other,

But the keychains on my backpack keep my presence known.

Pools of yellow light grace the sidewalk –

Perfect semicircles that flood my path with warmth,

And show me what I look like in distorted bobbing shadows.

Black and gold.

The night wind whips my jaw length hair around my face

As red car quietly whizzes around the curb.

Its headlights turn the still yellow picture

Into a glimmering scene.

I wonder where that red car is going,

And if the person inside loves the yellow light as much as I do.

I wonder if it makes their isolation feel warm,

If it brings sympathy to their innermost night time thoughts,

Or if that is just me.

Recent Posts

bottom of page